Observing that Endless Blue Mystery We Refer to as “Ocean”

“The sea is emotion incarnate. It loves, hates, and weeps. It defies all attempts to capture it with words and rejects all shackles. No matter what you say about it, there is always that which you can’t.” ~Christopher Paolini ocean

The ocean.

If there was ever a place on this planet that could come close to the glories of heaven, it would be the ocean.

My spirit is attached to the infinite boundlessness of the sea. It calls to me. When I am there, I am complete. I am whole. Nothing else matters, nothing else exists. In the moment my feet reach the sand and my hair is thrown about by the wind, there is nothing in the universe but the sea and I. Nothing between me and this vast, endless line of blue that so perfectly captures the raw and exquisite allure of life, and reminds me that I am forever lucky to have a part in it.

What could be more humbling, more daunting, than standing before something so genuinely never-ending as the sea? We are only beginning to understand the complexity of it. We’ve only scraped the surface of the waves in terms of knowing all the mystery it truly holds. The ocean is nothing but a big, magical unknown to us.

It is because of this I feel so spiritual as I stand before it. As I even think about it now.

The moments of my life seem to be defined by the times I am there and the times I am not – the times I can see it and the times I can only hear it through conch shells.

It is my escape. Never am I as in-touch with my God and my inner self as when I am in the waves, gazing out at the water before me. It is a magic I cannot describe. The ocean teaches me that there is so much more to life than the cage we build around ourselves and live within the confines of everyday. There is a world outside the boundaries of routine. There is more to life. There is always more.

The ocean reminds us of this. It throws us into the sharp reality we all must come to accept: that we are not the center of the universe. There are worlds and worlds and worlds of unexplored, uncharted territory that lies in the realm beyond our knowledge and understanding, and at some point in our lives we must learn to make peace with that. We will never understand the ocean completely. Can we not just love it for the dazzling mystery of it all? Must we constantly strive for a definition – to classify a person or a place or a concept in simple terms we can easily understand and wrap our heads around? Must we label the ocean as being nothing more than a “vast body of saltwater”?

Or can we realize that the sea is something else entirely?

As I leave you with that thought, allow me to quote one of my favorite Disney characters, “That’s what a ship is, you know. It’s not just a keel and a hull and a deck and sails; that’s what a ship needs. But what a ship is – what the Black Pearl really is… is freedom.” ~Captain Jack Sparrow

Captain Jack Sparrow

2 thoughts on “Observing that Endless Blue Mystery We Refer to as “Ocean”

  1. Natalie,

    I share your sense of the sea. For me, the sea and the mountains are spiritual ground. I grew up near the ocean and just recently built a house a short walk from the Atlantic. I’ll be there soon for a six month self-structured writing retreat.

    The sight, smell, and sound of the ocean washes away all anxiety and stress. I never go to the ocean or the sea without at least jumping in. The Atlantic and Pacific, the Mediterranean, Lake Michigan, Redfish Lake (Idaho), on and on. Wonderful memories.

    I loved the post.

    Tom

    1. Tom,

      I couldn’t agree more. There is something special to be said about the sea. It is a place my life seems tied to. As I sit here reflecting on the time I’ve spent there, the memories that come back to me are surreal. I achieve a sense of spiritual awareness there that is both dreamlike and magical. I spend my days at the ocean in a haze; I do not consider the passage of time. I know only the rising and setting of the sun, the turns of the tide. Each time I return for only a short while each year, I am instantly refreshed and ready to engage myself with life once more. It is rejuvenating to the soul.

      I’m glad you enjoyed the post! I am happy that we share a love and appreciation of the ocean. It is truly a most beautiful and sacred place.

      Natalie

Thoughts? I love those.

