Only This I Ask

I am lost, but

I do not ask that you save me –

Step between me and the engulfing darkness.

I can handle myself there.

I only ask that you hold my hand

And let the pieces of my soul love what they love.

*   *   *

I do not ask that you keep me –

These wings of mine are untamable.

The ground is a chain, and I’m sorry.

Again.

Because “love” is a fragile idea,

And “abandonment” is a loose term, and

I gave you both.

I only ask that you find somewhere within you

The desire to go on after I’m gone

And let the pieces of your broken lungs

Discover they can breathe on their own.

*   *   *

And you, my friend –

I do not ask that you create light for me.

I ask that you create light for yourself.

This world can be cruel, but I’ve found beauty

In all sorts of odd little places,

Like your thoughts.

I do not pretend to know what magic is,

But you’re my closest thing to a definition,

So I only ask that you stop trying so hard

And let your soul carry you as it knows how.

*   *   *

I do not ask that you always give off warmth,

For even the best-built fires cannot burn forever.

I only ask that you try to rekindle yourself

When the flames die out, and don’t you dare

Let the harsh winds of this world

Turn you cold.

Because I’ve seen many hearts and yours is by far

The most peculiar, the way it beats on and on

Like a drum with no rhythm.

I do not ask that you change your instrument,

I only ask that you find a beat to march to.

*   *   *

And I do not ask that you seek out a purpose and

Cling to the first one you find.

I only ask that when hope shows up

On your doorstep, you find the courage

To invite it inside.

I will not pretend that the life of a dreamer is easy,

But while the doubters contemplated the world,

I was out exploring it.

So I do not ask that you throw yourself off

Mountains and waterfalls in pursuit of adventure.

I only ask that you not hesitate to walk out onto

The open road when it calls your name.

My dear, I do not ask that you go looking for a life,

I only ask that you welcome yours when it finally arrives.

4 thoughts on “Only This I Ask

Thoughts? I love those.

