Chasing Blackbirds

Off to new places so soon, love?

Did you really tire of this life

So quickly?

You’ve floated off somewhere

Into the cosmos

And I’m having such trouble

Finding you.

You know,

It’s exhausting

Chasing you all over

Totality

In this never-ending game

Of hide and go seek.

I’m sure you’re off breathing

The lungs of a blackbird

Right now,

Waiting for me to come join you

On telephone wires.

I cry into the space

Of this empty room

In a fit of rage,

“I’m not coming this time. I’m happy here.”

And resonating somewhere

From the twilight of creation

Comes your answering laugh,

And we both know

It’s a lie.

Thoughts? I love those.

