Bibliophile

Oh, how many nights have found me like this –

Clutching a book in my hand,

Caught in the entangling web

Of someone else’s mind.

I do so love the way people think.

I lose myself in their musings,

In the way they arrange letters

And send them spilling out onto paper.

Oh, how many times has midnight discovered me

Racing around, mad out of my mind

Attempting to catch every single word

Dripping from the tip of an author’s pen,

So that I may bathe in their richness,

Like droplets of ambrosia

Washing the scars

From my skin,

Recreating me.

That’s the funny thing about

Writers, you know.

They have no idea

What they’ve done to you.

They go about their lives

So unaware

Of the way their hands

Have twisted and turned you

And wrung you out like

Water from a towel,

Their stories screaming

Across your eyes,

Dying by their

Hands.

8 thoughts on “Bibliophile

  1. “Oh, how many times has midnight discovered me

    Racing around, mad out of my mind

    Attempting to catch every single word

    Dripping from the tip of an author’s pen,

    So that I may bathe in their richness,”

    Great job capturing a passion that is seemingly difficult for me to articulate with words. You really grabbed the fire here. I’ve been lucky with such midnight experiences.
    ~RDS

    1. It’s impossible to capture the true passions of a book lover, but I’m flattered you think I came close 😉 We are such peculiar creatures, after all.

      This is a wonderful comment. Thank you!

  2. you are going to go far in the world my lovely lady….your future is in writing and with words…you will inspire the world and I will proudly watch you grow…at 15 you are incredible, one of the most gifted writers here and for one so young you are mind blowing…in your older years the world will know your name of that I am sure. much love Ceri x

    1. This brought a tear to my eye. I’ve wanted to hear that my whole life – that one day I would matter, that the things I write would matter. You saying this is a treasure I will keep with me forever 🙂 Thank you Ceri, you are amazing.

      1. I meant every word. My youngest daughter is 16 so only a bit older than you and my 23 yr old daughter is a writer also..she went to university to do writing and journalism and I feel very privileged to watch a young and great talent growing. I found you by chance but I am so glad I have, you are inspirational my sweet and your parents must be bursting with pride. you will grow and grow and as I said one day, when you are well known to the literary world I will say..”Yes I know her well, she is my friend I watched grow and I am very proud of her’ x

        1. This might honestly be the nicest thing ever. I am honored that you think so highly of me! 🙂 A fifteen-year-old with a dream is called “silly” and “unrealistic” a whole lot more often than “inspirational”. So you saying that means more to me than you will ever know.

          This might be childish to write, but someday I really hope all of our dreams come true.

          Until that day,

          Natalie

Thoughts? I love those.

