Reasons

The darkness lost its battle

To the sunrise today,

As I watched it sweep across

The horizon of my small town.

For how long have the sun and the moon

Been warring?

I do so think they’re in love

As I watch them fight each dawn,

Unsheathing their swords and

Tearing each other down

Along the skyline.

It’s really romantic –

That kind of reckless,

Vengeful love,

That sends bouts of light and darkness

Sweeping over the earth and rolling back

Like ocean tides.

It is moments like this,

Watching the timeless clash

Of the stars and the clouds,

That I understand

The reason for

All the poetry

Inside me.

4 thoughts on “Reasons

Thoughts? I love those.

