Savage Elegies

The world is being so loud today.

Shut UP, I’m trying to concentrate!

For the love of God,

What’s that outside the door?

Oh yes, that would be the shrieks

Of more hijacked planes, more

Falling towers –

Or perhaps the soft whistle

Of another bomb,

Another death sentence for

Some kindhearted people running in

Honor of dead babies.

And is that…? Of course!

I hear the trumpets now,

Blaring out the screams of

Starving children

In an impressive crescendo of

Torment and misery.

Hear now, the precarious rise and fall

Of the notes,

And then

Silence.

Stop, STOP!

I cover my ears in an attempt to block out

The freshly added choir of voices

Singing out the despair of

The earth,

Choking on the poison fed to her

By her own children.

Are you listening?

That’s the hymn of terrorists,

And murderers,

And gunmen

Cackling with glee over

The death of innocents

And the desolation of

Mankind’s last scraps

Of goodness.

I’ve had enough of savage elegies

And uproarious applause,

Asking always for one more encore.

Tell me, who is the conductor

Of this horrid arrangement?

Give me his name –

He should be strung up by his toes

For vomiting such madness.

I care nothing for composers –

Neither Bach nor Mozart

Nor God

Could have conjured up

Such a miserable symphony

As the human race.

18 thoughts on “Savage Elegies

  1. This is a very strong poem and I agree with a lot of it — however, I believe the problem lies in humanity not thinking enough of its own capabilities — mental and physical (which to me are fundamentally linked) — as opposed to our habit of relying on a separate “higher power.”

    1. Very interesting perspective, thank you – and I agree. People tend to count on a higher power (i.e. God) orchestrating what goes on in our world without realizing we hold much of that power ourselves. What I think it boils down to is that humans are uncomfortable with blame. In essence, we think: We’re not evil. God’s evil. That is the meaning of the end of this poem – that humans compose their own destruction, but do not realize it. It is not the doing of some higher power; we unravel ourselves, and we continue to unravel ourselves, never seeing that it is us that’s doing it. That is the fatal flaw in our race. What you’re saying, about not realizing our true capabilities, is 100% true – but the other half of that equation is not realizing our capabilities for self-destruction.

      1. Well said, though I will never rule out the spiritual or divine element which, for me, explains our supposed “accidents.”

          1. Natalie, I must confess I am very satisfied to have found someone who thinks along my loins (typo I’ll keep) — I am enjoying our dialogue, and our exchange of poetry.

  2. Wow. I was going to try to sum up my feelings about the state of the human race in a poem, but you’ve done it far better than I ever could. Thank you.

    May I reblog this?

    1. Of course you may! It would be an honor. I still think you should write the poem, though – I would love to read it, and I have a feeling it would be extraordinary 😉

  3. Reblogged this on volutedmind and commented:
    This is my first reblog.
    I’ve been mulling over ideas for a post Boston tragedy poem, but potterfan97, author of mywordpool, has written a moving, powerful, stirring poem capturing all the sentiments I’ve been feeling and more. Thank you, potterfan97.

  4. I saw

    a video today

    the autistic child

    explained

    covering ears

    arm flapping

    humming

    rocking

    ~

    it is a way

    for us to drown

    all sensory input

    that overloads

    all at once

    ~

    we create output

    to block out input

  5. This was so beautifully written. The world is becoming a very scary place to be. It seems to be so overtaken by evil, greed and apathy. I fear the end is near for this earth. I am glad that I found your blog. I love Eric’s poetry from Voluted mind, that is how I found yours.

  6. I added my name for your follow list today. This is vivid and clear. It cuts to the heart of the matter. Thanks. Writers have a responsibility to speak up for social change.

Thoughts? I love those.

