“and I wonder if Beethoven held his breath
the first time his fingers touched the keys
the same way a soldier holds his breath
the first time his finger clicks the trigger.
We all have different reasons for forgetting to
breathe.” ~Andrea Gibson

I open my mouth,

and instead of breathing in air,

I suck in the universe,

and hold it in my lungs until I feel

ready to burst.

Slowly exhale,

and wonder if my ethereal concoction

of life and oxygen

will find its way into the body of

a saint or a

terrorist,

and then,

I decide to

go ahead and

breathe anyway.

8 thoughts on ““and I wonder if…”

  1. Beautiful……one of the most frightening things is finding out who we are but we would be cheating ourselves if we let that fear stop us from doing what needs to be done. Thanks for sharing this!

      1. You said it wonderfully! When I read something that moves me I always like to comment to tell the writer why. I am ashamed to say…my view of what was written is not always the same as the author. I am glad this is not one of those times. 🙂

        1. Well thank you! 😉 Comments like this are awesome, I really appreciate them. And the reader is NEVER wrong, so don’t be ashamed – sometimes writers don’t know what they’ve written until they hear what others have to say about it. So thank you!!

Thoughts? I love those.

