If the World Were a Classroom

If the world were a classroom

and you were my student,

I would teach you that good things

come in fistfuls

and bad things come

in fists,

but you should still keep

your hands open

anyway.

If the world were a classroom

and you were my student,

I would take you out to see the stars

and tell you how they really died

long ago,

but become alive

in our thoughts of them,

and then I would tell you how

people are like stars.

If the world were a classroom

and you were my student,

homework would be

going to the park and

pondering the heavens,

and coming into class

with your thoughts on God

and why He is so cruel

and beautiful at the

same time.

If the world were a classroom

and you raised your hand with a question,

I would not give you the answer,

I would lead you to it,

and watch as you dig and dig

until you uncover it

yourself.

If the world were a classroom

and you were getting bad grades,

I would sit you down in the hallway

and tell you stories about second chances,

because everyone gets them,

but not everyone takes them.

If the world were a classroom

and I was your teacher,

I would never be able to tell you

everything worth learning about

because I wouldn’t know it all myself.

Maybe the stars will only ever

be dead and maybe

God is cruel and perhaps

we’re all just searching for

answers that don’t exist.

But I believe the world really is a classroom,

and we’re all absorbing information

and asking questions and asking questions

until the question becomes:

what are we going to do

with our answers?

6 thoughts on “If the World Were a Classroom

  1. You are very wise, for any age, and I was physically moved by this. You are offering so much of what this world needs right now. I hope a qa-zillion people/students read this beautiful poem.

  2. Really, really good both as a poem and a way to live and teach. Oh! for more teachers following your ideas. Great stuff!

      1. Just one niggling thing — Hunter and I are old-fashioned and stick to using “impact” as a noun and not a verb. But we know the language is changing. You don’t have anything to worry about as you are an excellent writer.

Thoughts? I love those.

