Preface to a Love Letter

Your eyes are the key

to the treasure I never wanted

and your laugh is the storm

the flowers needed

but never asked for.

My own hands are strange to me now,

for they are unrecognizable

if not entwined with yours,

and when I speak,

my voice sits in the air,

a single note,

waiting for yours to

come ring alongside it.

O, that fateful day

you stepped off the beaten path

and slipped your name

into my overcoat pocket.

I have long searched

the creases and the folds,

looking for fulfillment,

looking for reasons,

and only ever come up

with you.

You are the rising moon

in my not-yet-darkened

sky, and

I hate you.

I hate you.

I love you.

11 thoughts on “Preface to a Love Letter

  1. Glad I came across your poem… And even more amazing is your gender. I always thought men wrote the best love poems but this… this is indeed beautiful. Just a wonderful piece miss…
    Guess I can’t help but read more of your stuffs to see what’s inside..

    1. Well, thank you! I’m always gladly obliged to shake a fundamental assumption 😉 Anyone can write a love poem if they love strongly enough. I appreciate the comment, and you stopping by!

Thoughts? I love those.

