Onward

The click of high heels

as I’m reading my book –

ever-intrusive clamor

upon the precious silence

I work so hard to carve.

Tap, tap, tap,

go the women down the hall.

Hurry, hurry,

their shoes cry,

onward –

to somewhere,

to nowhere!

I smile at their haste, because

truly,

there’s only one place

to go to and we’ll all

be there soon enough.

No need to hurry.

This goes on for hours,

hours,

as I try to focus in on

the page in front of me.

Click, click,

tap, tap,

until suddenly,

among all the shuffling

and all the racing, comes

one that is

slow,

steady,

measured.

The leisurely stroll

that takes its time

to the office,

to the teachers’ lounge,

to death.

And for this,

I make a mental note:

that I wish not to walk with

the person who hastens,

with quickening heartbeat

and mortal impatience,

forward,

but beside one who

knows there is no need

to push on –

that the only real need

is to

slow down,

and look around.

2 thoughts on “Onward

    1. Thank you! 🙂 To be honest, I didn’t much care for the ending of this one (I usually like to go out with a big statement) but I felt that the soft wrap-up was necessary to go along with the theme. I’m glad that you enjoyed it!

Thoughts? I love those.

