My Religion

When I asked for answers,

they pointed me to churches,

when I asked for holiness,

they pointed me to sacred grounds.

I believe in no god that loves only those

who praise him from benches.

My religion is in the ground,

so that’s why when I went digging

for all the universal understandings,

I found them in the dirt,

beneath the roots of the trees

and above the coffins of the dead,

in the place where life and death

tangle and become one another,

and that is where I worship

my creator,

and if that condemns me to hell,

so be it –

for I will sit in no heaven

with a liar on its

throne.

9 thoughts on “My Religion

  1. Natalie,

    I have long felt the spiritual quality of nature. The mountains, forests, and oceans are sanctuaries for me.

    A strong and evocative piece of writing.

    Tom

  2. Natalie, I could not agree more (of course :))
    I especially love this phrase:
    “…in the place where life and death
    tangle and become one another…”
    It’s so evocative. Another fabulous piece of work, congratulations!

Thoughts? I love those.

