Clouds of Sea Foam & a Faraway Blue

Here, it is impossible to

think of anything but the ocean,

impossible to write of anything but the ocean,

so impossible, in fact, that the sky itself

has turned into an ocean I sit at the

very bottom of – the wispy clouds above me

the foam of waves too far away to

pull me off the ground and into their currents.

My body is a kite and the riptides above

want only to lift me up by my strings

and swallow me into their salty dreams.

Perhaps this is the reason we don’t fly;

throw a girl to the wind, and she might be

be lost forever to that high, deep, faraway blue.

7 thoughts on “Clouds of Sea Foam & a Faraway Blue

  1. I’ve wondered just that being “lost forever in the high deep faraway blue”. Lovely as always. You and the muse got a real good thing going. 🙂 Keep it up.

    1. Thank you Joanna 🙂 I actually thought of this one on the top of the beach house (there was a porch overlooking the beach). I scribbled it down on a scrap piece of paper and typed it up here when I got back. The sky really was an ocean, though. To convince myself of anything different would be an insult to my poetic nature 😉

Thoughts? I love those.

