Off Limits

I spend my time tripping

over the lines that keep us all

from spilling out onto each other,

running towards an open soul

only to find it barricaded by flesh.

We are such curious creatures –

the only kind that put up electric

fences where there should be rope,

allowing those who bring

scissors to cut through,

instead of frying anyone who touches.

Take me out, wring me out,

toss me with everyone else

into a pile of rags where we still

wouldn’t look each other in the eye,

into the grayness and edges and

parts that nobody ever wants to see.

What a terribly beautiful truth,

what a beautifully terrible truth,

what a truly beautiful terror.

7 thoughts on “Off Limits

Thoughts? I love those.

