Discovery

I will wander through this darkness

without candles or lamps,

with nothing to guide me but

the imitation light of my own soul

and find within this blistering night

not a dead day, but a slumbering one.

I will trek across the whites of your eyes

into the bareness of your silence

and find stretched across your aging skin

not a dead man, but a tired one.

And if there were any way to stumble forth

into tomorrow, I would trip over my

own feet to do so, and come back to tell you

what the sunrise will look like, and how

the clock will continue to sing its life,

its ticking, tocking existence,

and we will be there together,

at least for now, not a vanished thing,

but a discovery waiting to happen.

16 thoughts on “Discovery

  1. Like JCC, above, I was also taken by the lines “find stretched across your aging skin not a dead man, but a tired one”. To me, this reaches across the age barriers with understanding and acceptance. From inside a tired but not dead skin, Thanks. 🙂

      1. Of course. We shouldn’t have to pretend very heard when we pretend the truth of existence.

        So… How have you figured this stuff out? Maybe this is too big for a comment. Another poem, perhaps?

Thoughts? I love those.

