Surrender

I hand myself over to

the softness of today,

that holds me with its

shadow fingers and

promises better things.

I love the moments,

but I hate the hours

that move forward like

soldiers in a reckless war –

they have nothing to lose,

but I have everything.

I am an instrument of the clock;

it plays me with the expertise of

Beethoven without hesitation

to slam hell out of my keys,

just to create the kind of music

a king would stand up for.

Time keeps me with its iron fist –

I bend to kiss its knuckles

raw and red from beating.

18 thoughts on “Surrender

  1. Rereading it a few times its almost as if you are seduced by the gentle moments … but unwittingly trapped by the iron fist of time and kissing the ring of the master … an iron fist in a velvet glove? Either way, the images are powerful. Great job!

  2. Reblogged this on Soul Trips and commented:
    #icanrelate “I love the moments,but I hate the hoursthat move forward likesoldiers in a reckless war -they have nothing to lose,but I have everything.” I do enjoy reading from mywordpool πŸ™‚

Thoughts? I love those.

