Listener

You stand at the end of my timeline

unraveling, separate entirely from

my days and my nights; you are

the in-between, the gray area,

like an eraser smudge – I can’t

make out the words you were,

but something was written.

You are the dream real enough

to shake me from sleep yet

faint enough to be forgotten – still

I know you happened because

my mind caught it and

sealed it in its jar of thoughts

to remember another day.

I don’t know who you are,

but I have always felt you,

somewhere in the quiet

between sounds,

I have heard you,

though you still think

no one’s listening,

7 thoughts on “Listener

  1. I love the idea of a “jar of thoughts”. This poem reminds me of those times I feel there is an older me, sending messages from my future, guiding me in the right direction, sensed through my heart, uncertain if I can hear or am even listening.

  2. As always – layered, angled, thought-provoking. You know, last month I was profiled at Poets United, and pointed Sherry (the interviewer) to you and your blog, commenting I’d have been happy to defer the spotlight to you. Your writing deserves to be widely read. ~ M

Thoughts? I love those.

