Hero

My eyes fail me.

I’ve converted abstractions

into solid detail, but he –

he is not a story. He is

the story.

I look into him and

see only what he wants

me to see, a man

who’s his own God,

and it’s true, every

bit of it, it’s the

truest lie ever told.

I’ve fallen in love

with the lie of him.

He is unprecedented –

his eyes the only hint

his heart was ever human,

or could be, again.

He waits by the water

for me, always water,

always waiting,

and there’s only one thing

I know that he doesn’t;

he thinks he can’t see

his reflection because

the water’s dirty;

the water’s dirty

because it sees

his reflection.

12 thoughts on “Hero

  1. “Iโ€™ve fallen in love

    with the lie of him.”

    Yikes! This is so accurate. It’s not easy to see past illusions to who is really there.

    “the waterโ€™s dirty

    because it sees

    his reflection.”

    Great line! I like the way the poem builds to this.

    Alice

Thoughts? I love those.

