The Truth About Our Toys

I can’t remember the first time

I said I love you, but I remember

the first time I meant it.

People treat love like children

treat a new toy; play with it

all day long, and tomorrow,

if it doesn’t break, it’ll just

be lost under the couch

somewhere, and maybe

someone with longer arms

will save it from oblivion and

the bowels of our furniture

but more likely we’ll forget

about it until one day, a lifetime

later, we pull it out again, almost

by accident, blow off the dust,

and tell our kids how

incredibly much it

once meant to us.

7 thoughts on “The Truth About Our Toys

  1. “I can’t remember the first time

    I said I love you, but I remember

    the first time I meant it.”

    A perfect opening. Grabbed me by the throat
    in perfect preparation of what came after,
    of what always comes after.

    Girl, you never cease to amaze me.

    1. You always say the best things 🙂 I’m glad to have such insightful (and endlessly supportive) readers. Without them, this is all just a shout into the void.

      (It still is, I suppose, but there are people listening. So that must count for something!)

Thoughts? I love those.

