Taking Out the Trash

“A man takes his sadness down to the river and throws it in the river but then he’s still left with the river. A man takes his sadness and throws it away but then he’s still left with his hands.” ~ Richard Siken, Boot Theory

I took my sadness down to the river

– no not a river, a lake

– no not a lake, an ocean.

I took my sadness down to the ocean

in a black trash bag,

I heaved my sadness over my shoulder,

– no not my shoulder, my everything.

I left my sadness sitting there on the beach

and took to the water myself.

8 thoughts on “Taking Out the Trash

  1. So whatdid you do with the black garbage bag? Don’t you know that aquatic life can choke on such things? ((JOKING))

    This is lovely. Yes. You have that hole in your chest we were talking about earlier. Good. Keep it there.

    Alice

      1. Good. Yes. It’s a gift. It may not always feel like one. But it is. Keep your ear/eye pressed close to the opening and ready to transcribe anything. Bear witness. As you have been.

  2. This feels to be the saddest poem I’ve read here. 😦
    Reading your comments about holes in your chest, I been wanting to remove my upper chest and head (to release me from the pain of a respiratory infection) and just have some threads holding my arms and body together. The headless heartless man…

    1. Sorry for the sadness 😦 I’ll write a happy poem soon.

      “The headless heartless man.” I just had the best image come to mind. Looks like a children’s cartoon.

      Get better soon, my friend!

      Natalie

Thoughts? I love those.

