Humanity from Afar

I prefer to peer at humanity
From behind my mother’s back –
Behind a veil of protection,
A window that looks out onto rain
While shielding me from it.

I walk through the long hall of history
With my eyes fixed on its pictures.
I stumble through a sea of trash
To touch my hand to the painting
Of a long-dead artist,
To clutch at it like my last connection
To the race I come from.

Tell me I’m not alone.
Tell me there’s someone else
Who loved the sun, the moon, the stars
And that they laid them out on canvas
For me to find again.

Show me humanity created something
Worth looking at.

7 thoughts on “Humanity from Afar

    1. Yes, I agree. Too often do I observe humanity through the colorful (perhaps tainted) lens of its books and music. I think it’s time to start looking it in the eye.

      Thanks for reading, Joanna. I’m honored you find this poem worth thinking about.

  1. “Show me humanity created something
    Worth looking at.”

    This sums things up well enough to be a poem all its own.

    the love of two
    who made you thus
    plus the spirit

    waves to me through
    windows your eyes
    moonlight in words

    Alice

Thoughts? I love those.

