Musician in More Ways than One

Sometimes I forget I am a musician –
the way an ant probably forgets
it is an ant.

It comes as postscript,
once I’ve already introduced myself and the words
“I’m a writer” have been repeated
to the thousandth person to ask.

I wonder why I consider it
a P.S. at the end of my autobiography –
this ability to hold a violin
and somehow convince it to speak –

and then I remember how it feels
to hold a pen over paper,
so much like holding a bow over strings,
and I realize there is more than one way
to make music.

14 thoughts on “Musician in More Ways than One

  1. Man, you writing is uniquely beautiful, I love how the way you describe music in a way that is not obvious yet I am able to understand what your writing is saying.

    God has given you this gift to inspire, keep using it to make peoples worlds a better place :).

Thoughts? I love those.

