I Am Just as Human as You Are

Too many times you looked at me like my fingers were grasping the switch
that would rock your electric chair.

No, I will not hold a life in my hands.
I am not your executioner or your liberator,
I am not your Christ.

Stop thinking of me as a raven in a graveyard,
my beak stabbing the ground, waking the dead.
Stop imagining me with the sky and earth in each palm,
bringing them together with a clap —

ground-shaker, thunder-maker, heaven-swallower.

I will not hold the world in my throat or on my back.
I will cough it out, I will thrust it off.
The only thing worse than being treated like an animal
is being treated like a god.

Too many times you gave me your heart to weigh against a feather.
Too many times you looked at me like I was Fate with her cruel scissors.

Slowly, deliberately, one by one

I lift away my fingers.

8 thoughts on “I Am Just as Human as You Are

  1. Beauty. Let it go. Walk away.

    “The only thing worse than being treated like an animal
    is being treated like a god.”

    Love that line.

    Plus the reference to…was that Anubis? The weighing of he heart against a feather? Beautiful. Such an image.

    1. I’m walking away, but I’m looking over my shoulder. That’s okay to do, right? Like Vonnegut said, “But she did look back, and I love her for that, because it was so human.” And yes — it was Anubis, good catch!

      Thanks for reading, Johnny. I thoroughly enjoyed looking through your new blog today. What a treat to come back to your wisdom and insight after being away for a while. You give me new eyes.

      1. <>
        Funny, that. I’m getting ready to post a piece with just this….gesture?….in mind.
        It’s something in the vein of my “Poems of fictive moments,” I think. But from the first person. I’ll let know when it’s up.

Thoughts? I love those.

