Song of Rainwater and Stone

It was beautiful, and it was sad.
These two tastes have coincided so often
I have come to expect them in my mouth
like cream and sugar, like salt and pepper,
inseparable and incomplete without the balancing flavor
of the other.

You would love me if I told you why I cried into my pillow tonight
but for now I’ll keep these swollen eyes and trembling lips
a secret.

All you need to know is that
I was beautiful, and I was sad

and when the tears met the crevice of my mouth they tasted
like rainwater hitting stone,

stone that withstands a thousand years of wind and time,
stone that weeps with the sky.

12 thoughts on “Song of Rainwater and Stone

  1. I’ve been away from here for some weeks at least, and now I’m blown away from what I’ve been missing!
    This is sly enough to grab my attention, whilst sharp and beautiful.

Thoughts? I love those.

