Self-Reflection Inspired by a Miniature Dachshund

Happy NaPoWriMo – my favorite time of the year! As always, I will be participating by writing one poem for each day of April. This challenge has an energizing and revitalizing effect on your creative work, so I invite any and all interested friends to join me in undertaking it. 

There is something about a dog on a leash
that resembles my relationship with God.

I can’t help but have sympathy for her,
this miniature dachshund straining against her harness,
pushing forward with all her strength

and the owner with a benevolent smile
being dragged in tow, tipping his hat to every stranger and saying
“She’s a real fireball, isn’t she?”

Surely it is absurd that this tiny creature
could tug the arm that is meant
to lead her

but as she runs to greet me,
tiny legs pumping, mouth fallen open
in a lopsided grin

I understand the animal that is
allowed to believe, for a moment,
that she is the master.

2 thoughts on “Self-Reflection Inspired by a Miniature Dachshund

  1. Oh, you’re good.

    I wasn’t sure which copy to like, so I liked them both.

    You’ve probably also inspired me to write a poem a day in April. I haven’t written a thing in ages.

    1. Thank you so much, Eric! I was having some technical difficulties, and accidentally published two 🙂 Oh, well. Art is sloppy, right?

      I definitely recommend NaPoWriMo! It’s an incredibly rewarding experience, one that taught me to see the poetry of everyday living. Good luck to you, I will be reading every word!

Thoughts? I love those.

