NaPoWriMo as Cardioversion

For Johnny, and the resurrection of our creative selves.

Today’s poem rests atop a precarious
pile of essays and to-do lists
and unfinished emails.

This, I have to remind myself,
is the important work

this: my art,
the heart of my life,
that I must sometimes shock
back into beating.

One thought on “NaPoWriMo as Cardioversion

  1. “…the heart of my life,
    that I must sometimes shock
    back into beating.”

    And shall we also beat
    it into shocking?

    Mine needs a good shocking.

    It looks like I shall have to do two posts for Day 9 as Day 8 has slipped on by.

    Thank you, my dear.

Thoughts? I love those.

