Lost

And while you’re at it, listen to one of my favorite songs here.

I am afraid I have lost you,
unintentionally, the way I lose pennies
down sewer drains and socks to washing machines.

Where have you gone now?
What river or pipe has carried you far from me,
to where fish will nibble away at you
and mice will steal you for their makeshift nests?

I will find others like you, and I may
keep them.

It never leaves me, though: this sense
that I have lost something small
and vitally important

down the well of
space and time.

8 thoughts on “Lost

  1. I love that you gave that link. Was the song inspiration or did you just like it with the poem? The piece leaves me with that feeling I get when I leave my house and I know I have left something inside, but I do not know what it is. The last stanza feels not cliche but just often used. The beginning and middle are great!

    1. Thank you so much for these thoughts! I hope you enjoyed the song. It is so much a part of me that yes, it probably did inspire this poem — though I only thought of the song after I wrote it.

      I love your feeling of leaving the house and forgetting something inside. That is exactly the kind of vivid response I had hoped this piece would elicit.

Thoughts? I love those.

