14 thoughts on “Journey to the Center of the Earth

  1. there is no meaning
    the ground under your feet
    is sterile and shallow
    there are no shovels
    there are no hands
    and yet you dig
    you are a poet born

  2. reaching to see meaning
    deep enough to engulf you
    yet you are scaled to the minute
    dwarfed by the scale of the surface
    unaware of the scale of the whole
    realms of untold motion and fury
    await the ages passage

    minute speck, i honor you
    your thought is filled with intent
    look deeper and know your place
    a view to aliveness when all signs
    speak of unlikely connection
    life the anomaly

    inhale the gravity of love
    moored to this, you find yourself
    a magnet to others of your kind

      1. You are welcome! his is first time I’ve tever answered a blog post with a poem. It felt odd but right. Until a couple of years ago, I never showed my stuff to anyone. Just reading new poetry is something I just started doing in the last couple of years. I wanted to keep my poetry unaffected by others’ styles. I’m turning 63 this year and I have been writing since I was 11 or 12. That’s a long time to keep my light under a bushel, but when I turned 60 I thought,”If it isn’t ripe now, it never will be.” And here we are!

        1. I’m so glad for your response poem, and so honored that it’s the first of its kind! I can’t wait to read all your poetry πŸ™‚ You have such talent. The world will be made better through your words.

          Natalie

          1. I have two collections that I want to self-publish; I have bred fancy mice for years, and began putting up some of my stuff in there three years ago. There are maybe a hundred readers of the Fancy Mouse Breeders forum that follow my stuff. I use the same screen name there so, if you want to see a bunch of my stuff, there’s one avenue you could explore. You will see that I am not consistent I write in a lot of different styles and voices. I started a new poetry thread in there just about a couple of weeks ago.

Thoughts? I love those.