A Poem about Everything

I wanted to write a poem.

I wanted to write about beautiful things like other poets do; I wanted to write about fragments of sunlight caught on broken glass.

I wanted to write about the everlasting kiss between the waves and the shore. The retreat and the jump forward. The dance.

I wanted to write about caterpillars and butterflies and the transition between worlds through life and death and glorious rebirth.

But instead I could write nothing.

Nothing.

Because I could not draw to mind the broken glass; not the ocean’s kiss, nor the butterfly’s wings.

I could only imagine in my mind a great swirling depth: a whole cosmic universe of ideas, all manner of sizes great and small.

Galaxies of music notes and poems and long-lost handwritten letters and a great deal of used notebook paper strewn all over, as well as photographs and books and words, words, words – words everywhere, words through my skin, words up my nose, words in my hair.

Such easy pickings. Right there for the taking.

What could I draw up out of this astronomical world for my poem? What aspects of it could I pull out and twist around and stuff into five tiny, compact stanzas to be easily read, easily digested? Which idea could I pluck up right out of the air and make my own?

But no, not today.

Today I would write about all of it. Today I would not pick one star – I would write of the whole Milky Way.

Because today I see it, and today I pursue it. It is really quite amazing,

The poetry of everything.

4 thoughts on “A Poem about Everything

  1. Natalie,

    “The poetry of everything.” A perfect expression of the wonder all around us.

    Different poets write differently of course. The creator of a haiku must be in a calm, centered place to craft and chisel that micro-poetry. But I’ve also read swirling, beautiful, mad poetry that could easily come from a feverish mind.

    The several gorgeous poems you have posted on this blog seem a mix of the two ways. Flowing and organic but also crafted, words chosen with care and love.

    Thanks for sharing your wondrous writing.

    Tom

    1. Tom,

      I cannot possibly put into words how much this comment means to me.

      You are such an inspiration. Thank you for your continuous support – it is, and always has been, an honor to receive it.

      Natalie

  2. You put into words the euphoric feeling I get when I can’t sit still to focus on one thing when I am just mindboggled about it all. Lovely and true and inspiring. Everything and nothing all in one verse.

Thoughts? I love those.