I Know Where the Sun Shines Brightest

Breaking through the hilltops,

Softly through the morning.

Ever gentle,

Ever hauntingly quiet.

An eagle across the eastern skies,

Taunting with its golden eyes.

I know where the sun shines brightest.

*   *   *

Outstretched fingers,

Touching, grazing

The width of everything that is.

Pale lips,

Kissing, tasting,

Existence.

Moving across

The air,

The water,

The earth,

Slowly towards an old, familiar point.

I know where the sun shines brightest.

*   *   *

Past the mountains, past the rivers,

Past all that flows and moves and breathes.

Stretching, reaching, gasping

For the place it knows all too well.

Where it returns, where it was born.

Where it has left a story behind.

I know where the sun shines brightest.

*   *   *

I turn to you in this half-forgotten darkness

That is my life

As it comes to drape itself across

Your face, lighting up the skin

I’ve longed to touch

And the hair my fingers have ached to know.

Because I know.

I know where the sun shines brightest.

1 thought on “I Know Where the Sun Shines Brightest

Thoughts? I love those.